1/4

I am a quarter of the way into my time here. Seeing that in writing makes it even harder to believe. The routine I’ve begun to develop is making time fly, and the year that seemed like an eternity in the beginning is feeling increasingly short. I’m sure time will only continue to go faster, but knowing my time is limited makes it all the more precious and pushes me to stay present.

With the new school term, we recruited more girls for the new session of Girls Club from a couple nearby primary schools, and on our first primary lesson we had 160 girls attend! It’s been fun getting to know the faces and trying to remember the names of the girls who attend consistently. Teaching is not something I have much experience with and also not something I foresaw doing. It was definitely outside my comfort zone in the beginning, but I can feel the growth in my confidence and connections with the girls every time I teach, and I can now see how much I’ve progressed since my first lesson. Girls’ empowerment and education is important everywhere and here especially. Boys’ education is often prioritized, and early marriage and pregnancy are pressures that prevent girls from completing secondary education. It’s empowering to be part of a program that aids girls in reaching their full potential and being change-makers for the future young people of Malawi.

In my free time, I’ve been learning Chitumbuka, the language spoken in the northern region, from one of the residential form four finishers. Nkhusambira pachokopachoko (I am learning slowly). I have a long way to go, but it’s exciting being able to say a few phrases and pick up words in people’s conversations. My tutor’s goal is for me to be conversational by December, an ambitious goal but one that keeps me motivated!

One of the most fulfilling parts of my experience so far has been getting to know the D2D community. A few nights ago, I had some friends over for dinner. They taught me to make omelet-chips, a common Malawian meal, usually enjoyed for breakfast. (For the record, this was not my first time making an omelet). The food was delicious, and the process of cooking and sharing a meal is one of my favorite ways to spend time with friends and learn about different cultures. Cooking is something I enjoy personally and food is a commonality that I think has a unique way of bringing together people from different backgrounds.

I’ve attended church with some of the residential boys on a couple Sundays at CCAP, the Church of Central African Presbyterian. On the first Sunday I went, when the preacher saw me, he asked whether he should give the service in English, which was very kind, but not wanting him to speak English for me alone, I told him I understand a little Chitumbuka. Needless to say, I understood almost nothing, but I enjoyed witnessing how the congregation worships, particularly the singing and dancing of the high-spirited gospel choirs.

Whenever I see pictures of people from home wearing boots and scarves, I have to remind myself that it’s fall in the Midwest. It is getting progressively hotter here as we move into hot season, with the highest temperatures being in October. The heat has made me increasingly appreciative of my proximity to the lake!

Even on tough days, there truly hasn’t been a moment when I’ve regretted my decision to come here. A year ago, I was deep in panic-mode with the What the heck am I going to do with my life after college question, and I certainly didn’t predict an experience as special as this one.

Thankful for my moments here so far and all to come.

2 thoughts on “1/4

  1. Your third blog was really fun and comforting to read. It was fun because I loved reading about your cooking experience and how time is flying. You know what they say, “time flies when your having fun”. Also, comforting because you are leaning the language, you are growing as a teacher and you have not yet melted from the heat (Ha!). Keep writing your blogs Lauren, they say so much in just a few paragraphs. Love – U-Poppa

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I also really enjoy reading your blog. Learning the language, enjoying worship, teaching and empowering young women, dining with friends… You are sucking on the marrow of life and making the world a better place. ❤️

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment